Spell the Month in Books // June-December

Remember when I did this challenge in 2022?

I wanted to finish it, so I went ahead and did the months I didn’t do, all in one shot. 😆 Again, the challenge is from Jana @ Reviews From the Stacks. I tried VERY hard not to repeat any authors, both from this list itself and the other one… I tried to pick my very favourite books… but books I don’t mention too often… and I tried to pick some without articles at the front… we’ll see how well I did!

*Note: my reviews, which include any content warnings, are linked in the book titles.

JUNE

J ~ Johnny Tremain: A Story of Boston in Revolt by Esther Forbes (5/10 hearts)

This is one of my favourite books. First off, the historical setting and writing style. This book is set in 1775 Boston and describes the town so well. Everything is so detailed and vivid. The language, even if it’s not archaic, somehow does not pull you out of the setting. The style is fascinating. The descriptions are excellent. But the characters. 😊 Each one is vivid and perfectly unique, and so real… an absolutely brilliant piece of work. There is plenty of sarcastic humour and heart-felt emotions… and the theme. The theme. James Otis’ whole speech. The ending section. 💗 So beautiful. So bittersweet. So perfect. The ending gets me every time. I am on the British side of the war, but this book made me understand and respect the American side. And American or not, I can appreciate the amazing theme and how it’s played out so amazingly. 💗 This is the best Revolutionary War book I’ve ever read, and one of the best historical fictions (and one of the best endings. I can’t get over that amazing ending. And theme). I just love this book so much. It’s a brilliant, beautiful piece of work. 

U ~ Understood Betsy by Dorothy Canfield Fisher (8/10 hearts)

I love this book so much. I have read it many times, but I still love it so much. So sweet, relaxing, quiet-paced, realistic… and the reading of “The Stag at Eve” is so beautiful. Betsy is such a dear, admirable girl, and the Putneys are lovely, and Molly & all the other village people are delightful. And the lessons are so good, and the humour so dry and witty! I strongly encourage everyone to read it. 💗 It is seriously so good. 

N ~ Northern Trails: Some Studies of Animal Life in the Far North by William J. Long (8/10 hearts)

My heart, I love this!! The first part, “Wayeeses the Strong One,” is just lovely & pretty much perfect for me. The whole section is simply a record of wolf life, taken straight from the experiences of Long, his Indian guide, and his guide’s teacher. I loved it! It had all Long’s beautiful writing, coupled with fascinating glimpses at Indian life, wolves, and the North. Beautiful, truthful prose and so utterly fascinating! I found it very hard to put down. The second part was about whales, Canadian/wild geese, fishers, and salmons. I found it absolutely fascinating. Nobody really talks about any of those animals. Overall, this is a splendid book and probably my favourite of Long’s books.

E ~ Erling the Bold: A Tale of the Norse Sea-Kings by R.M. Ballantyne (7/10 hearts)

I’ve always had a weakness for books about Vikings, and this one thoroughly satisfied me. It presented the hardy, battle-savvy, rough Vikings, but dwelt upon their family life instead of their bloody works. I loved Erling so much ❤️ It was very humorous, exciting, and realistic; and it had some lovely thoughts upon salvation and death… it’s amazing to have a thoroughly Christian 1800s adventure novel!

JULY

J ~ Just Folks by Edgar A. Guest (7/10 hearts)

I really enjoyed this little book the first few times I read it… it is so sweet and homey and humorous and vintage-y. But as an adult, it struck me extra hard. I identified with all his poems about character and life and hard work, and I loved his little memories of his youth and of his fatherhood. Overall it is one of my favourite poetry collections ever, and I would like to reread it every year!

U ~ Up From Slavery: An Autobiography by Booker T. Washington (9/10 hearts)

This little book was such a surprise… a GOOD surprise. One of my top favourite books, about one of my (very) few heroes. If I tried to explain how amazing this story was, I would tell it all and ruin it for you. Suffice it to say this man had an incredible life—and he built it all by himself. I could not begin to explain everything this book offers. Booker Washington’s comments on racism, slavery, black people, and white people were so worth reading. His comments on speech is almost exactly what Basic Principles of Speech says and I loved that. Also, his writing is amazing—clear and concise, with a thread of dry humour. And finally Washington’s character is hugely inspiring and motivating. The diligence, cheerfulness, patience, calm of this man is amazing. The way he handled money issues, unkindness, difficulties in life… I just was so humbled and encouraged. I cannot recommend this book strongly enough. Just go read it. It might even make it into my 10/10-heart books.

L ~ Love’s Enduring Promise by Janette Oke (7/10 hearts)

Oh!!! How I loved this book!! It’s even better than book one. I loved seeing the love between Clark and Marty. It was so sweet and precious! I also loved all their interactions with their kids. They were just such a beautiful, happy family. Clae and Nandry were so sweet, and I loved Tom. (I do hope Owahteeka shows up again 💗 ). And I loved Willie, and Pastor J, and… oh, man, I love the characters soooooo much!! The plot line was amazing, and I lovedddd the messages. It was just such a sweet, beautiful, hooking story. 💗

Y ~ Yellow Star by Jennifer Roy (5/10 hearts)

Syvia’s story is amazing and I found it impossible to put the book down. This book is poignant and bittersweet and beautiful and moving and heartbreaking all at once. You really feel like a child is telling it. It’s so well done. It’s a side of the Holocaust that I haven’t read much about, and somehow, it was encouraging and a blessing. In the midst of all that horror, children were loved and sacrificed for and cared for. The encounter with the Russian at the end is so sweet. 💗

AUGUST

A ~ As the Heavens are Higher by Courtenay Burden (7/10 hearts)

What a beautiful story! It was a restfully slow-paced, and yet intriguing and hooking. I really enjoyed all the characters (even Richard, who at first was really a pain to me). And I was really impressed how well the plot was crafted. The writing style was delightful as well—old-fashioned but perfectly easy to understand. Also, I was very impressed by how accurate and well-researched this was. Finally, the themes/messages/lessons were SO good! I really appreciated them all. Overall, it was really a wonderful book I really enjoyed and I highly recommend it!

U ~ Uncle Tom’s Cabin, or, Life Among the Lowly by Harriet Beecher Stowe (7/10 hearts)

This is an amazing book. So many wonderful characters. So much humour. So much beauty. So much pathos. Eliza, George Harris, Master George, Uncle Tom, Aunt Chloe, St. Clair, Eva, Miss Ophelia… oh, I loved so many of them. This book did not portray the South as the awful slave states, but rather pointed out that the whole U.S. was to blame for the situation, which I appreciated. Good and bad masters were shown—I think it did a good job of showing how even well-treated slaves suffered from the evils of slavery. The theme and lessons were wonderful. There are so many beautiful quotes in this book… about forgiveness, and love, and patience… Oh, it’s just so beautiful.

G ~ Gentle Ben by Walt Morey (8/10 hearts)

Oh my heart. I adore this book! And I don’t say that lightly. I really do adore it. The characters are simply amazing. Ellen & Karl are both really great and compliment each other so well, and I love their understated romance. 💗 I defy you not to love Clearwater and Kelly, too. Mark himself is a dear, and then, of course, Ben is simply awesome! The friendship between the two is just beautiful. The writing style is excellent; the plot is very well done; the setting is superb. It is a very vibrant, very beautiful, very fascinating book and… really… just simply amazing.

U ~ Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt (7/10 hearts)

I was so surprised by this book. I honestly didn’t expect much from it. It sounded like your typical sweet coming-of-age middle-grade fiction. It was so not typical. It’s gritty, raw, real, and un-whitewashed. And yet it is beautiful, and touching, and engaging, and realistic, and heart-tugging, and thought-provoking. There were so many amazing characters here. Each one lived. Each one was a real person, such as you meet in the world. Each one had a lesson to give. The love story and searching for love theme was so well done. The descriptions were amazing. The small message about writing was fabulous. It is not exactly a “clean” read; it’s all tastefully and well handled, but because of the overall themes, topics, message, & style, I recommend it for ages 18+. That said, it is a wonderful coming-of-age story, a story that tackles the toughness of life so well, and a book I’m so glad I read—and that I want to read again.

S ~ Shattered Reflection by Madisyn Carlin (6/10 hearts)

I’m starting to learn this author has recurrent types among her characters, and I am so here for it! All of the ones here are AMAZING and played their parts delightfully, however short or long they were. The plot was slow to start—I wondered for a while how all these far-spread people would ever get together—but once it got rolling I was on the edge of my seat, and everything flowed very well. The pacing was excellent, with plenty of ups and downs, climaxes and moments of respite; and all the loose ends were tied up, yet in a way that left one eager for more! And I just have to mention I LOVED the sarcasm. #Epic. And also, the pro-life thread was fire. There’s no gainsaying this is a heavy, serious book; yet Carlin did a fantastic job pairing humour with horror, joy with grief, and laughter with pain. She also did splendidly showing redemption tempered with justice, as well as healing, and the truths of God against all these abominations. I particularly loved the reminder that we are not what others say we are, but who He says we are. This was a deep, good, satisfying read, and I am so eager for the next instalment in the series. 

T ~ Three People by Isabella M. Alden (9/10 hearts)

I love this book so much, and yet constantly forget about it. It leaves me full of admiration and encouragement and motivation to live for Jesus… Every character in this book is vivid and alive and realistic. The plot is one of my favourites—the growth of a child into a young man, and how his life impacted those around him, and how God works throughout the years in hearts… and how choices cause repercussions unseen. The romance was barely present, yet very sweet! And Alden’s writing style is beautifully simple and straightforward. The passionate stance on the absolute abstinence of alcohol was so well done, but it wasn’t the only theme of this book. The reminders to pray without ceasing for people and keep trying to win them to Christ; the reminders about hypocrites and Christians who call themselves so but aren’t; the reminders that choices have huge repercussions… this book is just full of timeless reminders to Christians. Overall, this is one of my favourite books ever, and one of those I want to be rereading yearly. I highly recommend it to everyone, but especially Christians. ❤️

SEPTEMBER

S ~ Stop the Rain: Never Leave a Fallen Comrade by Kassie Angle (9/10 hearts)

Yes, I knew this book would be amazing. And it was just as amazing as I expected. I fangirl over Kassie Angle’s books a lot, but this one I cannot fangirl over. It is too real for fangirling. Somewhere out there, someone like me has their own Harley—a Harley that you can’t shut the book covers on and put down when your heart hurts too much. This book was superbly well written. The style is perfect for this type of story. It was heartbreaking and filled with hope. It was beautiful and terrifying and painful and hilarious. It is just overall beautiful and life-changing. It’s one of those books you need to reread periodically so that it stays in your mind & keeps changing you. And it’s a book that I think everyone should read—no matter your nationality or beliefs. Because this book will teach you something about real heroes and brokenness and beauty and hope and life. 

E ~ Echoes by Miranda Marie (5/10 hearts)

As soon as I started reading this book I was hooked. I was absolutely unable to put it down. I don’t think I’ve been “hooked” so strongly before by any other book. I loved it so much. The poetic prose. The drama. The beauty. The descriptions. The comparisons. Natan. I loved it all. I read this book in a few days and skimmed over several parts to get to the end quicker. Some weeks later I picked it up again and reread the whole thing. It takes a good book to be able to hold such a quick reread. This is now one of my absolute favourite books. I love it so much and I CANNOT wait to read the sequel!

(Okay, so this was an old review… 2018 or so, when I was in my late teens. I still have to reread the book. But I really did love it back then 😂 )

P ~ Poems Every Child Should Know by Mary Elizabeth Burt (5/10 hearts)

5 stars. These poems were very judiciously chosen. I enjoyed almost every single one, and some of my very favourite pieces of poetry are included in here, such as “The Lye,” “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard,” “Old Ironsides,” “The Violet,” “The Flag of England,” “Casabianca,” and more. I did not agree with every idea or poem, but for the most part they are delightful. Certainly a collection to have on hand!

T ~ Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (5/10 hearts)

I’ve wanted to read this classic for years but always was a little wary because it was about pirates. I needn’t have worried. In the first place, MAJOR RESPECT to Stevenson for the way he made his pirates perfectly real and yet kept the book so clean. Second, although the violence does exist, its quite toned down. Murder and fighting is quite prevalent, but honestly the only really disturbing thing is when a man is accidentally trampled by a horse. All the rest was really laid-back and so matter-of-fact that I found it completely cool. Third, the characters were very real and alive. And finally, the plot. Highly unrealistic, and yet completely intriguing; fast-paced, and yet relaxing; serious, and yet very humorous. I also loved the themes of courage, loyalty, and doing right. Overall, it was a fun, light, quick, enjoyable read!

E ~ Everything I Became by Michaela Bush (5/10 hearts)

What a raw, vulnerable, beautiful collection of poetry. I applaud the author for her bravery in publishing this. May God use it richly. ❤️ I haven’t been through any sort of abuse, but I have had my share of depression, guilt, fear, and mental struggles, and I related to several of these poems. I teared up over the motivating encouragement + inspiration, and the gentle love + understanding…

M ~ Mrs. Frisby & the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien (5/10 hearts)

I really enjoyed this story. It was not what I expected at all! I loved how the rats were presented as really nice, since they are usually presented as nasty, especially to mice. The Frisbys were all so sweet and real. I loved how realistic the story was. And that bittersweet ending… oh my word. And the writing style is just so sweet and well done. Another lovely all-ages book & family read-aloud. ❤️

B ~ Beorn the Proud by Madeleine A. Polland (7/10 hearts)

If I had read this as a kid, I would have ADORED it. As it is, I still realllllly loved it. It was totally up my alley, basically the perfect Viking book. I LOVED Beorn and everyone else (can’t list them all….). I loved the plot, it was so cool and stirring and interesting and viking-y! The excitement and intrigue were really good. I loved the writing style and setting, too. I will be looking out for more books by this author.

E ~ Eldorado: More Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy (5/10 hearts)

I’d rather spotlight The Elusive Pimpernel, because it’s SUCH A GOOD SEQUEL TO THE FIRST BOOK, but it starts with a ‘the,’ so… we’re going with this one. Which is still good. I was furious at the start and hated it, but the story quickly redeemed itself because it got so awesome. Percy was SO PERCY and Chauvelin was so Chauvelin, and Marguerite was amazing and not running into trouble AT ALL, and Andrew was amazinggg! And the plot was SO COOL and so gripping, and the adventure! and excitement!! and anxiety!!! I loved it. 😍

R ~ Return to Gone-Away by Elizabeth Enright (7/10 hearts)

You know those books that end and you’re left going “AWWWWWW…”? Yeah. This is one of those. From the first page to the last page it is just so quaint and lovely! Enright has a marvellous talent for describing or saying how you feel in certain situations or certain seasons. I loved seeing all the characters again. I fell in love with Gone-Away Lake all over again. I enjoyed the humour so much—I laughed out loud so often!! This story just was so realistic and happy and heart-warming and… blissful. I just love this duology so much and this book finished it off perfectly. 💗

OCTOBER

O ~ One in a Galaxy by Angie Thompson (8/10 hearts)

Oh my heart, such a sweet, heart-warming book!! I honestly wasn’t sure about this one at first, given that I don’t read sci-fi, but I loved how Angie Thompson handled it. The characters were the best. And I loved how unique and un-cliché they all were!! The plot was so interesting and delightful. A slice of life, yet threaded with mystery and with a crazy climax. I loved the teensy thread of adorable romance, and most of all, the wonderful message—all life is worthwhile. ❤️

C ~ Chester Cricket’s New Home by George Selden (6/10 hearts)

This is book 5 in a series. What a delightful book!! I enjoyed it so much! Walt is a real hoot, and yet so sweet and kind. And Simon is so wise and nice. 🙂 I loved seeing all the meadow folks again, and Chester himself is so sweet. A perfect addition to the series!

T ~ That Affair Next Door by Anna Katharine Green (6/10 hearts)

This is definitely one of my favourite Green mysteries. It was not dark or gruesome at all; very humorous, and extremely baffling. The twists were amazing. Overall, it was extremely well written.

O ~ Our Yellow Tape Letters by Caitlin Miller (7/10 hearts)

My heart, I wasn’t ready for this. We all know how much I love WWII books. Caitlin Miller did a fantastic job with the army side of things. I loved seeing the war in Africa instead of Europe, the usual setting, and what the life of the troops was like. It was also really cool to see what life back home was like during this time. The writing style was superb—sharp, beautiful, and clear—and I loved how the book went endlessly between the past, the present, and the far past. It was paced and delivered so well. The characters were my favourite part after the writing style and messages. The plot was awesome. I found myself struggling with the realization that Ben was dead almost as much as Lucy did, and battling the realization of love lost as much as Sage. The author did a splendid job showing how final and hopeless and painful life can be, but she didn’t overdo it—rather, it was healing, to realize this and to see it mirrored in fiction instead of a happily ever after wrapped up in a little bow.

B ~ Brothers-in-Arms: A World War II Story by Jack Lewis Baillot (6/10 hearts)

Although the book is over 440 pages long, it hardly felt that big. I read it in a couple of hours—it’s easy to read and understand. The plot picks up pretty fast and then just gets faster and faster until you really can’t put it down because you really don’t know what will happen. The characters really lived. Their arcs & friendship is the best thing ever. The themes and messages were spot on, especially right now. I compared myself to characters and tried to decide what I would do when faced with their moral and ethical dilemmas. It’s an absolutely amazing and unique WWII fiction.

E ~ Eulalia! by Brian Jacques (5/10 hearts)

Ayyy, this was a fun book. Many of the characters reminded me of other Redwall characters, which gave this book a very comfy feel. Plotwise, this was quite the rollercoaster. The siege was pretty anxiety-inducing, specially when everybody began to converge on the abbey. (Have I said before that I LOVE how Jacques wraps all the threads up and has them cross perfectly??) Losing Martin’s sword was also pretty terrifying. I lovedddd the riddle and search, as always, and there was the usual enjoyable up and down of capture, escape, hiding, attack, and epic showdown… I loved it. 🙂

R ~ Rufus M. by Eleanor Estes (5/10 hearts)

Aw, Rufus. I love Rufus. I am astounded at how well Estes portrays a child’s mind and point of view. This book was really flawlessly child-like in narrative. It is a very good book and the Moffats are all so realistic and fun. There’s so much humour!! The last chapter, too—my word, how lovely and sweet!! This is a wonderful World War One book.

NOVEMBER

N ~ North & South by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell (8/10 hearts)

There aren’t many books set during the Luddite Riots/post-Industrial Revolution era. It was fascinating to see an industrial city in the 1830s compared with a tiny village. The writing style, as always, was superb; Gaskell has a beautiful voice and uses her words well. The plot was very interesting, with rising action, suspense, and climax, which kept me completely hooked. The romance was very sweet, and I loved the humour, especially from Mr. Bell! But the themes & messages of this book was fascinating. Overall, it was a fascinating, gripping, beautiful, and very thought-provoking story filled with amazing characters, beautiful writing, and great truths.

O ~ Once Upon a Dime by Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick (8/10 hearts)

This was even more exciting than book one in this series. It’s just as humorous as ever, the stakes are higher, and Emily proves her worth. The whole thing kept me riveted even more than it usually does. The political surroundings were so much fun, more puzzle pieces are fitting together, and ahhh I’m just so, so eager for Season 2!!! I can’t even express how much I love these books and how awesome they are!!

V ~ Victory’s Voice by Erika Mathews (5/10 hearts)

5 stars. Wow. This is hugely powerful & impactful. It seems to be an allegory of how words (and books) are super powerful and can be used either for the Lord or for the Devil. I was really impacted by this, as a writer and a reader (and a big talker). It was a great reminder to be careful what I read and say, because you can’t be neutral. I also loved the message of how to gain victory and how JESUS has the victory already… and it belongs to HIM, and how we have to fight in HIS strength alone. Promise’s Prayer impacted by prayer life; Victory’s Voice impacted my Bible reading! 💗

E ~ Elsie’s Friends at Woodburn by Martha Finley (6/10 hearts)

I really enjoyed this book! Captain Raymond is such a lovely father and Lulu is now super sweet and darling… and of course Max and Grace and awesome, as always. By chapter 2 I was already going YUSSSS PREACH—I love how Martha Finley adds so much truth to her books! All in all, a lovely addition to the series and so worth pressing on to!

M ~ More About Paddington by Michael Bond (7/10 hearts)

I think this one is even funnier than the first book. And I still laugh aloud when I read this one—particularly the last chapter!!! It is just sooo funny. But every chapter is funny. Mr. Curry + Paddington’s interactions are the best… 😆

B ~ Black Beauty: His Grooms & Companions, the Autobiography of a Horse by Anna Sewell (9/10 hearts)

This is one of my top favourite books. I’ve read this book so, so many times but each time I just love it more. There is so much wisdom, and humour, and sweetness in these pages. There is so much about treating animals well, and also a lot of information about life in the 1800s. There’s so much doctrine in this book, too, just little nuggets every once in a while. It’s a refreshing, relaxing, slow-paced book, perfect for all ages. I highly recommend it. 💗

E ~ Escape & Endurance by Sarah Holman (5/10 hearts)

It’s not my favourite in this series, but I enjoyed this story. I loved the lessons; really, they were amazing and spoke to my heart. The story was less exciting than the others, but it was crammed full of amazing reminders.

R ~ Rebecca’s War by Ann Finlayson (8/10 hearts)

I loved this book almost instantly. It is suspenseful and exciting, but also full of sweet relationships/friendships and real life. It was very historically accurate in thoughts, language, and setting. I really appreciated how the British were realistically portrayed in this story—bad guys and good guys, brought up differently from America. I loved the excellent humour! The ending of this book was so sweet… I was left basically melting. 💗

DECEMBER

D ~ Dewdrops & Butterflies by Libby May (5/10 hearts)

I wanted to read this book as soon it showed up on the market. The cover is drop-dead gorgeous (purple is one of my favourite colours, AND I ADORE AMPERSANDS AND THAT ONE IS MY FAVOURITE). And the synopsis intrigued me. However, having such high expectations of it, I was terrified to try it and be disappointed. I finally purchased a copy and took 3 months to scrape up courage to read it… and then I read it in one evening. Yeah. It was good. The plot HOOKED me. I could not set the book down. I also really loved how the author handled her subject matter. The story is harsh but beautiful, and I loved it.

E ~ Economics in One Lesson: The Shortest & Surest Way to Understand Basic Economics by Henry Hazlitt (5/10 hearts)

5 stars. This is an excellent book which every voter should read—and every politician!!! It makes the concept of economics so clear and plain. It deals with many aspects of it and explains it all very well. The dry humour is a relief, and although some parts were over my head, I understood what it was about and learned a lot. 

C ~ Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham (5/10 hearts)

Nathaniel Bowditch was an amazing man and I really appreciated getting to know him. He was brilliant, but he was just a kind-hearted man, caring for everyone who crossed his path and doing his best for them. The other characters were superbly well done (can I just say, there are SO MANY AMAZING RELATIONSHIPS IN THIS BOOK and I love that). The sly humour was delightful. Really, this was an all-around amazing fictionalized biography which I highly recommend! 

E ~ Exiles from the War: The War Guest Diary of Charlotte Mary Twiss by Jean Little (5/10 hearts)

This is one of my favourite Dear Canada books because it is so natural. No nasty siblings, no huge romance (barely a hint), no shocking revelations, just a loving family. I loved the humorous, real bits of life, the fun characters (especially George 😉), the vintagy-ness. This is definitely a favourite read of mine.

M ~ Mr. Pipes & the British Hymn Makers by Douglas Bond (7/10 hearts)

How I love this book! I love the hymns—almost every single one. I love the histories of the men and women behind the hymns. I love the British talk and the little British town and Mr. Pipes and Dr. Dudley and all the other inhabitants. And Annie and Drew, of course. 😉 It is a wonderful read for anyone. ❤️

B ~ By Secret Railway: A Story of the Underground Railroad by Enid LaMonte Meadowcroft (8/10 hearts)

I read this in one night. It was absolutely impossible to put down. Grandfather ended up one of my favourite fictional grandpas ever! All the children were so real and funny and easy to tell apart. I loved Jim (such a sweetheart!) and I loved the theme/message. The story was super exciting and left me absolutely on the edge of my seat more than once… And then Lincoln. ❤️ I always had a soft spot for Lincoln and his appearance here was so sweet and so true to character! ❤️ Oh, and the ENDING!!!! 💗

E ~ Emil & the Three Twins by Erich Kästner (5/10 hearts)

Now, I enjoyed this story way more than book 1. Somehow the kids rubbed me a lot less. The characters were much more fun, and there were some GREAT new characters. The humour was very good too. The story itself wasn’t exactly a mystery, more of an adventure, but it was quite exciting and hooking, and I really enjoyed it. It was a good continuation of book 1.

R ~ Rebel Mind by P.D. Atkerson (6/10 hearts)

I was NOT ready for this series to end. This book started off with a BANG. By chapter one I was already yelling at the author. 😆 I don’t think it was THE most intense book of the series, but it was pretty intense still. I was so happy to finally have all the pieces snapped together about Lee’s past/backstory, etc. And I loved seeing old characters returning. I loved the romance, okay?? It was amazing and so, so sweet. *happy sigh* I love this series, guys.

Well, there we are, guys. We did it. It took like 3 days or more, but it’s done. I hope y’all enjoy this enough to make it worth it, lol! Anyhow, I enjoyed the challenge. 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget about the Springtime in Surrey promo!

And the Springtime in Surrey art contest!

Published by Katja H. Labonté

Hi! I’m Katja :) I’m a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I am a bilingual French-Canadian and have about a dozen topics I'm excessively passionate about (hint: that’s why I write). I spend my days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. Welcome to my corner of the internet!

2 thoughts on “Spell the Month in Books // June-December

  1. Oh wow, I loved reading through all your book highlights here! One month at a time is challenging enough for me, I imagine it was much more to do seven in one go. Great job, and thanks for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started