The Single Line Story Challenge x2 + 3

Back by popular demand?? Back by several tags, anyways. šŸ˜ And since thereā€™s two (thank you, Florrie and Erika!), thereā€™s gonna be TEN stories today! Iā€™ll add the rules at the bottom and just start the stories now. šŸ˜

P.S. Some of the stories are continuations from last time; can you figure out how many/which?? (Grace, one of these is for youā€¦ šŸ˜‰)

P.P.S. If you didnā€™t read ā€œlast timeā€™sā€ post, here it is:

1. Young Adult

She had never considered herself particularly pretty; but looking around at these manicured, elegant girls, Alyne realized her beauty level was considerably lower than sheā€™d thought.

[the clichĆ© identity novel?? maybeā€¦ maybe notā€¦]

2. Romance

The message hidden among the dainty blossoms brought a blush to her cheek and a flutter of joy to her heart.

[yes I promise this story is coming sometime soonā€”like maybe this month??]

3. Fantasy #1

The little cream-coloured mushroom house, complete with carved shutters, flowered curtains, a white-spotted red roof, and a pretty red door, lacked only the stone pathway to be as perfectly charming as a little fĆ©eā€™s heart could wish.

[ok so I also wanna write stories about little people who live in flowers and mushroomsā€”like fairies, only nonmagical and just normal peopleā€¦]

4. Drama

Miss Katherine Roylett had only been the toast of the season for a scant three weeks before the scandal broke out.

[donā€™t worry itā€™s not a bad scandal, of course; itā€™s like a Sherlock Holmes mystery scandal, you know]

5. Adventure

It was fall, and fall meant many pleasant thingsā€”knitted scarves, meaty nuts, warm cups of soup, and leaf piles, all in every shade of green, brown, orange, red, and yellow; yet at the back of all this pleasure niggled wordless fear, for fall also meant one terrible danger: bearsā€”and bears loved fat mice.

[did I ever mention I also wanna write a story about little mice living in cute little tree houses??]

6. Contemporary 1

One pink roseā€”a single tribute to years of sweet, elegant womanhoodā€”a single message of gratefulness and joy.

[I may have kinda gotten caught up in these covers but I love this new idea!]

7. Thriller

Innocents at stakeā€”a monster on the looseā€”between them, only a rookie and his rifleā€”and God.

[you know I had to bring in the police, huh]

8. Historical

Ma always said that the scent of apple trees drew her back to happinessā€”but for me, they only brought waves of sorrow.

[oooo this is a cool idea!!]

9. Contemporary 2

The world was very dreary this afternoonā€”a damp little city, huddled under a weepy grey sky and surrounded by unsightly puddles of equally gloomy water.

[I just decided this is the opening line of my story Raindrop World that Iā€™ve been meaning to write for like 5 years and itā€™s coming soon too]

10. Fantasy #2

Perched on the white rock festooned with trailing green moss, the little serena carefully ran the golden comb through her silky tresses, humming a dainty sea-song under her breath.

[that was for you, Charisā€¦ okay and for me too because I love this]

And because I just made this and kinda love it right now…

So Iā€™m not a great cover designer but I love mucking around šŸ˜‰

Anyways, thereā€™s your 10 short stories! Which was your favourite?? Which do you want continued???

Oh yes and hereā€™s the rules…

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you/mention whose blog you found this on.
  • Include the rules and badge in your post.
  • Write 5 single line stories that fall under any of these genres (you can pick which ones you do!):
    • fantasy
    • romance
    • thriller
    • mystery
    • western
    • contemporary
    • historical
    • drama
    • dystopian
    • adventure
    • sci-fi
    • paranormal
    • young adult
  • You can choose 5 genres thatā€™s easiest for you, or you can challenge yourself to try something new!
  • Nominate 5 blogger/writers who youā€™d love to see participate and leave an open nomination for all writers!
  • You can do this challenge more than once.

Published by Katja H. LabontƩ

Hi! Iā€™m Katja :) Iā€™m a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I am a bilingual French-Canadian and have about a dozen topics I'm excessively passionate about (hint: thatā€™s why I write). I spend my days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. Welcome to my corner of the internet!

17 thoughts on “The Single Line Story Challenge x2 + 3

  1. AAAH!! Katja, these are all so lovely, but of course you know which one is my favorite!!! You simply must (not mist this time XD) write these! And those covers are perfect!!! <333 You've got me wanting to do this one again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. May I ask what you use to design those covers? They’re gorgeous! I do hope you’ll publish some of these stories–I love your writing! I’ve been tagged for this several times, and I think I might just have to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started